June UK Map Update
  • After installing latest UK Maps on my PC some towns and cities have names in what looks like Russian. Is this a bug or are there settings to change them back to English? 
  • 10 Comments sorted by
  • Yes, this is conversion bug. Some info is written in International names in non-latin characters
    tomorrow you should see map update (only the names, other things should be the same)
    thank you
       Martin
  • Thanks for the swift reply. I have been using your free software on my notepad for a few months now and I am very happy with the results. I have managed to convert and combine "Archie's" Camp site data files for the whole of Europe as POI's. Looking forward to trying this out later in the summer. 

I have noticed a few minor bugs which I suspect are in the mapping, like roundabouts the wrong way round for UK or road sections that are not joined to the next section. Do you wish to have these reported or should I improve my skills and edit these in Open Street Mapping ? 

Once again, thanks for your reply.

Mark 

• Hi Mark,
    the best is to fix it directly in the source, i.e. in OpenStreetMap. If the source looks correct but it is wrong in Navigator then let me know (+coordinates or way ID of the road(s)).
    thanks
       Martin
  • Hi Martin

I have checked two errors that I remember in OSM and as you said the problems are in the mapping and not in Navigator. I'll try to correct them after I understand the basics for editing OSM. Here goes !!!

The latest UK update corrects place names as promised.

Thanks

Mark

• Out of interest, how long before an alteration on OSM UK map would appear on Navigators map?

• Hi FBF

I don't know, maybe Martin (mdx) will tell us.

Mark 

• We are currently processing planet-120613.osm  ... UK could be updated by the end of this week ... if everything goes well ...
       Martin
    p.s. you can increase priority request here (for next batch)
  • Thanks Martin