installing NF offline
  • Hi All, I am new to this wonderful site+forum+idea etc etc. I liked very much the idea of an open source development of navigation sw s o I registered, downloaded and tried. Everything runs fine on my desktop but I don't know how I could install on my car PC that is presently offline. Is it enough to copy the downloaded files to the a second HD or are the internet connections absolutely necessary?
    Would it be possible to have a description of what is installed where?
    Many thanks or your help

Adri
  • 10 Comments sorted by
  • Hello Adri,
    you have similar problem discussed on German OSM forum (http://forum.openstreetmap.org/viewtopic.php?pid=166448#p166448). With version 11 (alpha) you can copy downloaded setup_pc_navigator.exe and maps. At the moment you have to enter a key, so use default OSM key: B8PTX8RXF4HTFUR3PGRTPURPT
    Setup Utility for version 11 is here:
    http://download.mapfactor.com/setup_utility_alpha_11_0_4-3_exp110601_4cc426ab06.exe
    regards
    Martin
  • Hello Martin,
    Many thanks for your help. Unfortunately my german is not that fluent :-)), but I think your words are enough to understand I can do the copy/install onto the offline pc.
    Is the alpha_11 out for testing? Can I make my attempts useful in any way to the team?

Many thanks

Ciao

Adri
  • Hello,
    I tried installing the 11_alpha and in the end it still asks for internet connection + stops doing anything else when not finding the server from which to download files.
    I reconstructed the directories exactly as they are in the original download. What else do I need?
    Many Thanks
    PS: it doesn't ask for any key