Routing - accuracy?
  • I am a truck driver (delivery and collection work) and have done a couple of routes with Mapfactor which didn't seem accurate. One 'route not found' - I did read in another post that 'U-turns' should be unchecked but that made little difference.

Two days; 10 may 16 was 'no route found' and 13 may 16 the route seemed a bit unusual. All I can compare it with is with Voyager app which seems to work fine (but alas uses google maps to check post codes so can't be used without signal). Perhaps I am using Mapfactor incorrectly - I am using it for routing and the satnav for driving. My satnav experience so far has been that problems are more likely if one tries to use waypoints and goes past a location to then U-turn. So perhaps someone can advise? mapfactor was with Car shortest route.

I depart from the depot in Spalding UK and put the destination (although I don't go that far) as Norwich. This allows me to enter collections along the route when phoned. At each stop I enter the next in the garmin while I test out Mapfactor.

10 may 16
    stops: PE30 4JL, PE30 0NP, PE38 0EQ, PE38 9JE, PE38 0PU, PE37 8FF, PE32 1JA, PE37 8DA, PE32 2UE.

voyager - as expected, the trip is south from Kings Lynn to Little Ouse and then across East to Swaffham

mapfactor - route not found

13 may 16
    stops: PE12 8SG, PE12 7QW, PE12 8LY, PE12 8NG, PE34 3LW, PE38 0NL, PE33 9NP, PE37 7QA, PE37 7XD. PE32 1JE was a collection which when entered and optimised inserted in after PE33 9NP.

voyager - seemed ok but drops 2, 3, 4, 5 differed with mapfactor

mapfactor

thanks (sorry not sure why the images don't work... usually do on other forums - used direct link instead)
  • 15 Comments sorted by
  • 10 may 16
    postocde PE30 0NP is not a valid postcode

13 may 16
    I have a completely different route, is PE12 8SG departure ans PE32 1JE destination?
  • nice of you to reply so promptly

10 may 16