Strange distances to next turn shown
  • Hi,

MFN Free always writes out "112 m", "473 m" or similar while the speech announcements are ok "in 100 metres ...". In an ancient discussion I got told that the written distance is due to an internal measurement in non-metric units.
    Since the vast majority of users is assumed to use the metric system, consider to display appropriate values. I'm a sw engineer myself and I do not consider this as a complicated change.

Thanks
    Dirk

• 13 Comments sorted by
  • I do not understand your comment, we do work in metric
  • In my latest Android Version from the playstore, above 500 m distance the display shows o.6 km, 0.5 km and so on. Below 500 m, i get (presumably) exact distances in m steadily decreasing. At the time, when the announcement for 200m starts, the display shows a bit more than 200m, at the the time, when the announcment for 200m is finished, the display is somewhat below 200m. That is ok for me.
  • The announcements come a little bit earlier than for the spoken distance. This makes sense, as the announcement itself takes a few seconds to finish and the user to understand it. During that time, you move forward and the announced distance would be already outdated if not started a bit earlier.
  • I'm using v2.0.30 DEV on Android and refer to the distance shown on the bottom left during navigation. For distances smaller than 500m there is always something like 473 m, 394 m, 273 m, ... which is strange. Proper rounding would be better.

• There is no need to use the DEV anymore. The DEV version is 2.0.31 and the Google Play version is 2.0.33 (no idea why the dev version is lower)
  • it simply shows you accurate distance from your GPS position
    why should it be rounded?
  • Rounding is appropriate for two reasons:
    a) GPS usually has a 10 m deviation of position.
    b) The vehicle movement makes the accuracy looking strange (because you cannot constantly update)