Navigation quirk - major tourist road not found in Canada
  • Hi all - I'm fairly new with trying out Navigator free.  I'm trying to set up some routes before going to Canada soon for a driving trip through the Rockies.  The route I want to take is from a hotel in the town of Lake Louise to a hotel in Jasper.  The calculated route wants me to drive back out of the mountains almost to Calgary, then drive up the plains before entering the mountains again.  What I actually want is to take Highway 93 (the tourist route called Icefields Parkway) which goes directly from Lake Louise to Jasper.  

I've adjusted the 'car' settings from the default to take small roads, but the calculated route remains the same, taking me out to the plains.  

Trying to force a waypoint by clicking a location on Icefields Parkway from the map and adding that as a waypoint produces a 'route not found' error.  

Any suggestions for how to get the navigator to take Hwy 93 would be greatly appreciated.  Hopefully this link will take you to a screenshot of the roundabout route..

• 9 Comments sorted by
  • there seems to be problem with free map data, close to highway 11
  • I guess that is something not easily fixed from the other side of the world?
  • It has nothing to do with a small road or so. It's a primary road.
    OSM mentions that there is a gate at this location on highway 93.

A gate is a barrier (http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Tag:barrier=gate) and that's why Navigator leads you over another road.

Removing the gate from the road "from this side of the world" is easy enough, but I don't have the local knowledge.
    Is there really a gate or something else, therefore incorrectly tagged? Is it just an error and should it be next to the road or is it a small (service) road leading off the 93 closed with a gate?

Also: A barrier should have an access tag as well to mention which traffic can use it (or not at all)

Someone should take a look over there :)