What geo Uri format needed for navigator to go to the location?
  • I'm writing a Android app that issues an Intent with a geo Uri. navigator is given as a choice by the system but I get error message: Address not found. What does the geo Uri need to be for navigator to go to the location?  My code:
    Uri loc = Uri.parse("geo:0,0" +"?q="+latD+","+longD+"("+locName +")&z="+zoom);
    Where locName is my nickname for the location.
    Here's a sample:
     Uri=geo:0,0?q=36.8671,-93.4398(Cox Ford)&z=17

Thanks, 
    Norm

• 11 Comments sorted by
  • I think you need to convert co-ordinates to miliseconds, i.e.
    36.8671,-93.4398 = 132721560  -336383280
  • That Uri works with Google Maps and Map Quest.  I would expect that if naviagtor lists itself as a choice with those other programs as an app to display a location, it would take the location's coordinates in the same units as the others.

When you say "I think" what do you mean?  Have you tried it?
  • I am not a programer, so 'I think' that it is what you should try as I have no idea what are you doing.

• I have an app that can read waypoints(lat/long/nickname) from different sources like .kml files.  The user can select one and ask that it be found on a map.  The program issues an Intent with the geo Uri as shown earlier. The Android system then presents a list of apps that have Intent-filters that say that they can handle the Intent that was sent.  The user then selects an app and the app positions itself at the lat/long given in the geo Uri.
    The Uri used works with Google Earth, Maps and Map Quest.  navigator gives an error.

Your suggestion says that navigator needs special conversion of the lat/long to correctly respond to the Intent my program sends.

Thanks for your responses.
  • Just tried changing the format for the lat and long to millisecs and got the same error:
    Address not found

My geo Uri:
    Uri=geo:0,0?q=132721560,-336383280(Cox Ford)&z=17