Show track up when not navigating?
  • Hello all, I am new to MapFactor and like it a lot, but have some questions.  I am using a Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 7" running Android 4.4.2.  This tablet does not have a magnetic compass sensor (not sure if that is an issue).  I want to have the map always display my track up even when just driving and not navigating.  I have Map Mode set to 2D.  Currently it shows my track up when navigating, but north up when not.  I explore on my motorcycle and most of the time I am not navigating a set route.  Am I missing a setting or is this not possible?
  • 10 Comments sorted by
  • Maybe I just missed some information, but: How should the map always show your track when in fact there isn't any track because you are not in navigation mode ...?
    Did you set a start and destination point and calculated a route you wish to be displayed permanently?
    Or do you mean the visibility of gpx tracks?
  • What I want to see is the map rotate to place the direction I am heading at the top of the display.  Garmin GPSs do this by setting Map View to either track up or north up.  I am exploring therefore I do not have a specific destination, but of course I am always heading in some direction and that direction should be up with the map rotated to agree with it.  In this way whatever shows toward the top of the display is what you are driving toward.  Hopefully this makes it more clear.
  • I don't understand either. When I drive in my car without having a navigation active, the cursor simply follows the road I'm driving.
    If you want to see in another color where you have driven, you need to switch on the gpx (or nmea) track and it will draw the driven track in the gpx color.