Moving to a new phone - can't convince the app to use the external storage
  • Hello.

I've just bought a Sony Xperia X Compact with Android 7.0.1 7.1.1. I'm moving all the stuff from my old phone. I have a quite large set of maps, plus a list of preferred places, etc., that I'm trying to transfer. I've moved them to the new sdcard. But when I start the app for the first time (eventually uninstalling and reinstalling it) it does ask me whether I want to use the internal storage or the external one; but it seems to ignore my preference (I can see that the folder is always created under /storage/emulated/0/Android/data).

Please let me know.
    Thanks.

PS I'm a software engineer with Android knowledge, just in case it can be helpful.
  • 6 Comments sorted by
  • I don't know how much help this is. I just downloaded and installed the app along with several US states. My phone is a Microsoft Lumia 950 with Win 10 OS. I installed the app on a 256 GB SD card. My phone would freeze, it told me I didn't have enough free space on the SD card when in fact I have over 100 GB free. I uninstalled it. I reinstalled on the phones memory and so far it seems to be stable and I have no where near the free space in my phones memory as I do on the SD card.... good luck, Blair
  • For me, with an older android version, there are two key settings.
    1. Location of app: using the android system Move to SD option works for me though it leaves some files or folders in internal storage.
    2. Map storage: using the app's Map Manager allows me to choose the SD.
    Just in case you'd missed one of them!
  • From android 7.0 onwards, and its implementation/convention (naming of external storage) by the manufacturer, can restrict access in some way to external storage/memory (sd card). Perhaps user setting can come into play to? Like encrypted storage?