Routing function
  • Hello,
    I am not an expert on the whole subject, but my general question is:
    Is Navigator Free designed to operate as a routing programm as well. Is it possible, to transfer a gpx file to the smartphone and then follow it by bike or foot?
    If so, what is the best way to plan such a trip? I do know that e.g. "Komoot" has a homepage on which you can easily design your tour on you computer and then convey it to your smartphone which then guides you to everywhere.
    To plan a (eg. bike) trip on the smartphone maps by adding waypoints is not convenient.
    Thanks in advance.
  • 6 Comments sorted by
  • Hi Chrissi,
    yes, just copy a GPX file to folder navigator/gpx on your Adndroid device and then you can display/replay it.
    regards
  • This sounds cool!

I have created a GPX file in Komoot and placed it in the folder you suggest, but I cannot see how to display/replay it!
  • in Tools/Replay
  • Hi Tomas
    That's great !

Chrissi1973 wrote:

"Komoot" has a homepage on which you can easily design your tour on you computer and then convey it to your smartphone which then guides you to everywhere.

I can view the GPX route that I have created as you suggest above but cannot work out how to create a navigable route as Chrissi implies.

Am I missing something?
  • you are not missing anything, it cannot be done at this moment
    may be if you import GPX, I am not sure
  • Converting the Komoot gpx file into a format that is compatible with Navigator can be done with XSL translation. It is not 'rocket science' but was not that easy to achieve. However the real problem is the number of individual points that Komoot generates. On a simple journey of only about 5 miles it required more than 250 sets of co-ordinates. It's a bit like trying to draw a circle with a ruler using an infinite number of straight lines. Including that many waypoints in a single route caused Navigator to crash!